Sunday, February 15, 2015

Update (Again)

I was trying out some streaming/video recording software. I used OBS (Open Broadcaster Software) to record. Here I use a maximum bitrate of 1000kb/s and used all of the basics essentially. But here is my test video.

http://youtu.be/KpqJf-OZcBE

With that said, does anybody have a good program for recording frame rates and automatically saving them to a good format? I was going to uplod some videos of BF4 but could not find a simple way to do it. And it seems that with OBS the end result is a bit choppy at times (even with high frame rates while recording).

Let me know! Also have a good one!

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Battlefield 4 (Preview)

I guess leading in with the specifications of the build I used for the review is very important. Although it may receive some flak from some for being outdated, it had it's moments where it was a little choppy but overall it was a great experience. Furthermore it showed that even some old-school parts can hold their own for some modern titles with the settings set appropriately. In this case the main setting that needed to be turned off that would have been nice was the deferred anti-aliasing feature. So without further waiting, here are the specifications and settings:

Played at 1920x1080,
 CPU: i7 920 @ 3.65Ghz
 GPU: 2 x GTX 580 (512Mb) @ stock
RAM: Tri-Channel DDR3 @ 500Mhz 7-7-7-20



I will be doing some proper benchmarking very soon but thought that I'd show a couple of screenshots in advance and give my thoughts on the game itself first. I won't be commenting on the online at all because that varies quite a bit in way too many ways to count.



I'll start off by saying this game looks pretty great, it may be the nicest looking game I've personally ever played. Not saying that there aren't any better in general, just that at stock (the way it was released), it is the best (that I've seen). It seems to overuse a few effects that end up being a hindrance at times but it is tolerable even then.



The gameplay was not anything new but I have to say I rather enjoyed the story. It forced you into making decisions that no one should have to make and that make you feel shitty about making, not because you haven't made the same decisions before but because of the way they go about it. I don't want to ruin anything for those that may not have played it but a few of the decisions were genuinely tough for me to make which was new. The campaign fell short in one key area though, how damn short it was. I think that another few missions would have made it better and not complaint worthy but this is one of those games that I feel most would be halfway through day 1 of buying it (assuming you had the day off of course). It took me a few days of casual playing to finish it and I was taking my time and enjoying the scenes. So when you see my rating for story being low, note that it wasn't that the story was poorly written, just not written enough.


Overall I would say buy this game. It isn't the most original game or the game with the least flaws but I had a great (albeit short) time. You feel attached to the characters and the gameplay is satisfying but nothing groundbreaking by any means. Then again, I wasn't one of the gamers that bought this when it first came out, I gave it some time before playing.

    Overall:   7.5/10
Gameplay:   8/10
  Graphics: 10/10
        Story: 5/10

I will have some more pictures and some benchmarks, possibly even a few videos (depending on if my PC can take it lol) very soon.

For now, I hope you enjoyed the review and have fun!

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Crysis 2 Demo Out Today!

Thought I'd make a post and update everyone.

The Condemned review is going well and should be out shortly, now for the important part.

Crysis 2 Demo is out right now, check the screenshots below.



The demo appears to be only multiplayer.

For anyone interested in playing it, here are my specs/game settings:

Specs
CPU: PhenomII 965 @3.4Ghz (125W)
GPU: ATI HD6950 (unlocked)
RAM: 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Drives: 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
OS: Windows 7 x64

Settings
Resolution: 1440x900
Graphics settings set to 'Hardcore'

I never dropped below 60FPS, usually around ~65FPS


Go play it!

Friday, February 25, 2011

Update on the review.

Hey everyone, I know it's been a while since my last post, I've been looking into the Condemned games, I just need to pick them up and play them.

I made the decision to play the Condemned series due to having such a great time playing Dead Space 2. I then decided to go with the suggestion after a bit of research.

I will start with Condemned: Criminal Origins and follow up with a review of Condemned 2: Bloodshot.


Check back  frequently!

Thursday, February 10, 2011

It's that time again.

I'm looking for suggestions on some games to review, so comment in!

A thanks to all of my followers again, I really appreciate it, looking forward to reviewing more games.

On a random note, here is a picture I found of Crysis 2. I hope it looks this great on launch day and the computer hardware required isn't too crazy.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Dead Space 2 Review (PC)

   Well, first I'll tell you the main things that I take into account when reviewing a game: Graphics, Feel and most importantly Experience. Graphics is a rating based on how good the game looks and how visually immersive the game is. Feel is a rating based on how immersive the game environment is and how the overall setting ties into the experience. Most importantly is Experience, experience is the rating based on how immersed I was and how the gameplay felt and how much fun the game was, as well as replayability. All rankings will be out of ten, and there will be an overall score (also out of ten).


 

  •  Graphics: 8/10

          The graphics in Dead Space 2 are actually very well done. The game looks visually great and they were right on with the environment. They improved the graphics over the original Dead Space by a moderate amount (at least the textures seem better) which is an improvement.


  • Feel: 9/10

          Dead Space 2 did a particularly good job in this portion. The environment was both immersive and scary-as-hell. There were occasions when the mood was so well done and the game was so immersive that i actually physically jumped out of my seat. I really can not say enough about how well done the setting is, it reminds me of FEAR 2 but maybe even better (which is saying a lot).

 

  • Experience: 9/10

          The overall experience of this game was great. Dead Space 2 is truly a great game. It has it all: Setting,  good graphics, great game mechanics (actually improved significantly over Dead Space) and best of all, they all tie in perfectly together. Playing this game was a smooth experience that is just plain fun, there is no part that seems to stick out (bad or even too good) of the overall experience.


 

  • Overall: 9/10

          This game is great. I highly recommend it to anyone who really enjoyed the original Dead Space. It carries over the basic mechanics and improves on everything else, as a sequel, it really does its job. Great game in general however, even if you have not played the original, this is a great game, but I would recommend playing the original first as this kind of continues the original story.




Thank you to all of my viewers and followers, and as always, leave a comment with your opinion/advice and I will do what I can.

Dead Space 2 Coming Soon

UPDATE:

I am currently playing/reviewing Dead Space 2 as requested by comments. I should have a review out shortly.

Homefront is now on my list to buy (when it comes out).

Thanks for the comments so far, I am still looking for game review ideas and feedback so keep it coming!